A brief history of the Archdiocese of Honiara


27th July, 1897:The Prefecture Apostolic of the British Solomons.

1st July, 1912:Apostolic Vicariate of the South Solomons

15th November, 1966:Diocese of Honiara

22nd December, 1978:Archdiocese of Honiara

The area under the care of the Archdiocese includes the five Provinces of Guadalcanal, Makira and Ulawa, Temotu, Central Islands and Rennell and Belona and the area governed by the Honiara Town Council. Total land area measures 10,726sq. kms.

Most Reverend Archbishop Adrian Smith, sm, DD, C.B.E.

4th May 1940:Born in Dublin

26th March 1966:Ordained priest

21st March, 1983:Appointed Titular See of Vissalsa and Auxiliary Bishop of Honiara

24th April 1983:Episcopal Ordination

27th December 1984:Appointed Archbishop of Honiara and Metropolitan

27th January 1985:Installed on

Msgr. Bernard O'Donnell, Vicar General
Archdiocese of Honiara

Fr. Cor Hooymayers, sm, Chancellor
Archdiocese of Honiara